Home / Biography / Violent Change

Violent Change

San Francisco’s Violent Transformation write heart-on-sleeve power pop music and submerge them in reviews, results, and tape hiss so the lyrics (which are generally breakup-themed) are barely intelligible. However, the emotions of loneliness and heartache are obviously audible, as well as the upbeat tempos and catchy melodies make the tracks seem even more cheerful than they are actually. They were produced in the first 2010s by songwriter Matt Bleyle, an associate of many Bay Area garage area punk rings including Abi Yoyos and Sopors. Joined up with by Rohit Rao, Sterling Mackinnon, and punk/hardcore picture regular Tony Molina, the group produced its debut in 2012 using the Suck over the Weapon EP, the initial release over the Melters label. This is accompanied by a 2013 self-titled debut LP on Catholic Guilt Information. Rao and Molina still left Violent Change, as well as the band’s even more experimental second record, Celebration of Flavor, was recorded nearly completely by Bleyle, with some insight from Mackinnon and drummer Blaine Patrick. Melters released the record in July of 2014. Pursuing even more lineup adjustments (with guitarist Ray Seraphin and bassist Jess Sylvester jumping up to speed) and a brief hiatus, Violent Change’s 3 was co-released by Melters and IT REQUIRES Two in 2016.

Check Also

Brian Gulland

A classically trained musician and graduate from the Royal University of Music in London, Brian …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *