Home / Biography / Jean-Guihen Queyras

Jean-Guihen Queyras

Jean-Guihen Queyras is a France cellist who specializes in the single repertoire. After spending his years as a child in Canada and Algeria, Queyras and his family members shifted to France, where he used early music lessons. He pursued advanced research on the Musikhochschule in Freiburg as well as the Mannes University of Music in NY. He received the 2002 Town of Toronto Glenn Gould International Protégé Award in music, that was honored to him by Pierre Boulez as well as the Glenn Gould Base. He became a normal performer with Outfit InterContemporain, under Boulez’s path, and from that knowledge Queyras developed a devoted fascination with playing avant-garde and modern music. However, he firmly set up a popularity for playing the six unaccompanied Cello Suites of Bach, and he in addition has frequently performed cello concertos with main orchestras all over the world, like the Freiburg Baroque Orchestra. Queyras can be an enthusiastic chamber musician, executing using the Arcanto String Quartet, and showing up in recital with flutist Emmanuel Pahud, violinist Isabelle Faust, and pianists Alexander Melnikov and Alexandre Tharaud. Queyras can be a professor on the Musikhochschule in Freiburg, aswell as an creative director from the Rencontres Musicales de Haute-Provence, a summertime music celebration. He has a 1696 cello by Gioffredo Cappa.

Check Also

Richard Marlow

Richard Marlow came old amid historic and venerable institutions whose works he triumphantly shepherded via …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.