Home / Biography / Yyrkoon


Originally were only available in 1995 being a melodic death metal band, France’s Yyrkoon (therefore named after an obscure character in Michael Moorcock’s Eliric series) have attempted a variety of metallic styles during the period of their still developing career. Initially, the music group brought an ambient dark/dark metal audio to 1996’s Oath, Obscure, Occult demonstration and 1998’s Oniric Changeover debut record; but issues with their record label successfully iced their profession until 2000, whenever a three-track EP known as Forgotten Former finally been successful in securing a fresh cope with Anvil Information. At that time, Yyrkoon’s audio was best referred to as thrash-fueled intensifying steel topped with illusion and terror-inspired lyrical principles and could end up being heard on the second record, Dying Sunlight, in 2002. This energetic period offered to solidify the group’s lineup as Stéphane Souteryand (vocals/electric guitar/tips), François Falempin (electric guitar), Voctproen Vilchez (bass), Geoffrey Gautier (electric guitar/keyboards), and Laurent Harrouar (drums), if not really their musical path, which shifted radically once more because of their Osomose Productions debut, Occult Medication, in 2004. Many any symptoms of gothic and dark steel ambience were today gone (as had been the rather superfluous keyboards), and within their place still left ever-greater hostility and a crushingly dense death/thrash steel assault. Amazingly, these tendencies continued to be fairly unchanged for the band’s 5th album, Harmful Opera, also released by Osmose in 2006.

Check Also

Daylight’s for the Birds

Daylight’s for the Wild birds feature Philip Wann (vocals, keyboards, electric guitar), Jay Giampietro (electric …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *