Home / Biography / Vladimir Jankélévitch

Vladimir Jankélévitch

Blessed in Bourges, France, in 1903, Vladimir Jankélévitch was a distinguished People from france philosopher and novice musician whose writings add a quantity of profound and passionately researched books on contemporary People from france composers — for instance, Debussy, Ravel, and Fauré. Like a philosopher, Jankélévitch strove to define the indefinable, to illuminate, just as much as this is feasible through vocabulary, borderline encounters and situations, such as for example, for instance, the threshold of existence and loss of life. In both traditional viewpoint and science, you can say, life is usually identified with becoming, and loss of life with nonbeing. While acknowledging this dichotomy, Jankélévitch sensed compelled to explore a secret “neither-nor” middle condition, which he called “je-ne-sais-quoi” and “presque rien.” As vocabulary is generally struggling to illuminate these areas, music, Jankélévitch asserted, may be the medium which gives insights into undefinable encounters. Although not regarded musicological in the original sense of the term, Jankélévitch’s writings about music, specifically his richly noted monographs on specific composers, enable the audience to, putting away familiar specialized and biographical details, plunge in to the much less obvious, even concealed, measurements of music. For instance, in his publication on Fauré, Jankélévitch, unlike most Fauré scholars, reveals cosmic, general, transcendental, and metaphysical measurements in the music of the composer, whose music can be often thought as quintessentially France — quite simply, a closed reserve to people missing a profound knowledge of France culture. Educated on the École Normale Supérieure, Jankélévitch trained philosophy at many French colleges before becoming teacher at the College or university of Paris, in 1952. Staying at the college or university until his pension, in 1978, Jankélévitch performed a significant function in Parisian ethnic lifestyle, speaking out against wicked, cultural injustice, intellectual snobbery, and politics obscurantism. He continued to be passionately specialized in music before end of his lifestyle. Jankélévitch passed away in 1985. His books consist of Henri Bergson (1931), Ironie ou la bonne conscience (1936), Ravel (1939), Le Nocturne (1942), Le Je-ne-sais-quoi et le Presque-rien (1957), La Musique et l’ineffable (1961), La Mort (1966), L’Irréversible et la nostalgie (1974), Fauré et l’inexprimable, and Debussy et le mystère de l’instant (1976).

Check Also

Medici Quartet

The Medici Quartet is well known both because of its critically acclaimed performances from the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *