Home / Biography / Titus Groan

Titus Groan

Composed of Stuart Cowell (keyboards, guitar, vocals), John Lee (bass), Tony Priestland (saxophone, flute, oboe) and Jim Toomey (drums), this UK progressive rock and roll group took their name in the central figure of Mervyn Peake’s gothic book – within a variation over the Tolkien/Lord FROM THE Rings fixation portrayed by many similar sets of the time. Usually there have been few distinctive characteristics immediately apparent towards the listener on hearing their two 1970 produces for Dawn Information. The one, ‘Open THE ENTRANCEWAY, Homer’, shared too little conviction using the attendant self-titled debut record. Though the usage of blowing wind instruments offered fresh new opportunities, the group’s insufficient cohesive songwriting capability ensured these were not used. The group split up shortly after the discharge of the record, which was ultimately reissued on Compact disc by Find For Miles Information in 1989. Toomey afterwards joined the Travelers.

Check Also

Mirror Reveals

The ethereal/darkwave duo The Reflection Reveals includes vocalist Kit Messick and songwriter James Babbo. Messick …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *