Home / Biography / The Three Suns

The Three Suns

The postwar-era pop trio the Three Suns comprised vocalist/organist Artie Dunn, guitarist Al Nevins and accordionist Morty Nevins. Although created in 1939, the group didn’t achieve widespread achievement until their 1944 Best 20 rendition of “Twilight Period,” co-written from the trio with Buck Ram memory, sold more than a million copies. In 1947 the Three Suns topped the graphs with “Peg o’ My Center,” but from the 1950s line-up shuffles plagued the group — 1st Al Nevins was changed by Johnny Buck, who later on gave method to Joe Negri, while sibling Morty Nevins was changed by accordionist and pianist Joe Vento in 1955. After disbanding, Dunn reformed the trio in 1957 with guitarist Johnny Romano and accordionist Tony Lovello; a largely-forgotten curio for a number of decades, from the 1990s the Three Suns experienced accrued hipster cache because of the lounge-music revival, and their initial recordings resurfaced on a variety of exotica and “space-age bachelor pad” reissues. Al Nevins also etched his name in pop background because the co-founder, with Don Kirshner, of Aldon Music, the songwriting home which served because the epicenter from the Brill Building music manufacturing plant.

Check Also

Daniel Chorzempa

Organist Daniel Chorzempa studied in the University or college of Minnesota from 1955-1965, after that …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *