Home / Biography / The Nein

The Nein


Durham, NC’s art-punk task the Nein formed following the break up of Light Octave, which also featured ex – Cursive member Stephen Pederson. Vocalist/guitarist/programmer Finn Cohen and drummer/keyboardist Robert Biggers teamed up with bassist/visual designer Casey Melts away and extended the angular post-post-punk of the previous music group with more digital and melodic components. The trio documented its self-titled, self-released debut EP in springtime 2003; among the EP’s songs, “War Is around the Stereo system,” was presented on Pox Globe Empire’s Compulation, Vol. 1 collection. Past due that 12 months, they returned towards the studio room and documented another self-released EP, Twelve Thirteen Fourteen, that your music group released in early 2004. In the mean time, the Nein had been also creating a name for themselves like a formidable live take action, not only like a headliner, but additionally as support for rings like the Fall. At their displays, they added Dale Flattum, previously of Steelpole Bath tub and Dairy Cult, as an auxiliary member; Flattum’s levels of loops and examples added another component to their currently dynamic live audio. Cohen, Burns up, and Biggers had been so happy with Flattum’s efforts that he became a full-time person in the Nein. Though he didn’t show up on the group’s self-titled debut EP for Sonic Unyon — which gathered the highlights of the personal released EPs and in addition made them the very first American music group agreed upon to the Canadian imprint — his efforts were a fundamental element of the Nein’s initial album, that was released in early 2005. The next year, the music group released another EP, Transitionalisms, that was the last function the Nein documented with Uses up before he transferred to Portland, OR. The band’s second full-length, High end, made an appearance in early 2007.

Quick Facts

Full Name The Nein
Music Songs Jim Morrison In Desert, Five Extinctions, War is on the Stereo, Faint Sounds, Foreign Friendster, Bleeding Elvis, Conjugated Reverb, Courtesy Bows to New Wave, The Vibe, Achilles Last Tape Solo, House Atreides, Sexy Beast, Heatseekr, Radical Chic, Wreck We Um Dub, Crawl Grow Red Slow, A Landscape, Wrath of Circuits, Attitude and Mirrors, Burn Construction, Transitionalisthmus, The Future Crumbles, Journalist Two, Hospital Television, Butcher's Tale, Handout, Sweet Vague, Journalist One, Clearwater, Convalescent Home, Giorgio, Get Up
Albums Wrath of Circuits, Luxury, The Nein EP, Transitionalisms EP
Nominations Palme d'Or, Cannes Best Director Award, Cannes Jury Prize, Cannes Grand Prix, Cannes Best Actor Award, Cannes Best Actress Award, Cannes Film Festival Award for Best Screenplay, Bodil Award for Best Danish Film, Robert Award for Best Danish Film, Bodil Award for Best Actress in a Leading Role, Robert Award for Best Actress in a Leading Role, Robert Award for Best Director, Robert Award for Best Editing, Empire Award for Best Make-Up And Hairstyling, Cannes Grand Prize of the Jury, Blockbuster Audience Award, Robert Award for Best Original Screenplay

Check Also

Carol Williams

Carol Williams initial achieved achievement in 1976 with her dance edition of Kai Winding’s 1963 …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *