Home / Biography / The Max Levine Ensemble

The Max Levine Ensemble

Washington D.C., pop-punk music group the Maximum Levine Outfit was created in 2000 by vocalist/guitarist David Combs, bassist Ben Epstein, and drummer Nick Popovici. Called after Combs’ senior high school friend Maximum Levine, who 1st switched him to both punk music and radical politics, the trio switched in a set of homemade CD-R produces in 2001 and 2002 which were later on reissued on Battle the Octopus Information. Their quirky audio combined playful lyrics which were socially and politically conscious with rousing, melodic pop-punk. Their third LP and first genuine label release, Developing an Intergalactic Period Machine, found its way to 2003 and was accompanied by several split 7″ produces with Procedure: Cliff Claven as well as the Soul Animals. Through the entire decade the music group continuing to tour regularly, releasing their 4th recording on Plan-It-X Information and getting involved in the label’s bus tour. After becoming ridiculed on punk vocalist/radio sponsor Ben Weasel’s ESPN radio display in 2008, they required their revenge on the track known as “Ben Weasel Feels We Suck” which posed like a false cooperation with Weasel by sampling materials from his display. A 2010 EP on Asian Guy Records was accompanied by the anthology Mr. Gikokovich 2000-2005: A Retrospective. After 2011’s The Elephant in the area EP, the music group remained relatively silent with Combs dedicating time for you to his solo task Spoonboy. In 2015, the Maximum Levine Ensemble came back with Backlash, Baby, their 5th album and 1st full-length discharge in eight years.

Check Also


Popincourt may be the overall performance nickname of Olivier Popincourt, a People from france vocalist, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.