Home / Biography / The Ladybug Transistor

The Ladybug Transistor

Led by vocalist/guitarist Gary Olson, a onetime string stretcher and major inspector at his family’s piano factory, indie pop unit the Ladybug Transistor debuted in 1996 using the LP Marlborough Farms, entitled after Olson’s Brooklyn-area house recording studio. Following a lineup modification that left just Olson and drummer Edward Forces remaining through the Ladybug Transistor’s first roster, Saturnine guitarist Jennifer Baron and her bassist sibling Jeff had been recruited ahead of documenting 1997’s Beverly Atonale, released on Merge. After completing the LP, Forces exited and was changed by Individual Fruits Pie drummer San Fadyl. The group’s amazing third record, The Albemarle Sound, which included participant Sasha Bell on keyboards and vocals, implemented in 1999. Both Bell and Jeff Baron had been also people of neo-psych music group the Essex Green at the moment, along with the alt-country clothing the 6th Great Lake. The Ladybug Transistor’s following record, Argyle Heir, using its indie kitsch stylings, premiered in springtime 2001. After shedding Jennifer Baron and attaining Julia Rydholm, the music group decamped to Az to record its following record, The Ladybug Transistor (2003), with Calexico manufacturer Craig Schumacher. Even more lineup changes implemented as Bell still left the music group and Jeff Baron became even more of a satellite television member. The music group stayed fairly calm for a few years because the lineup sorted itself out, and Olson spent period producing other performers. They came back in 2006 using the Right here Comes the Rainfall EP and adopted up with the wonderful Can’t Wait A LATER DATE, that was released in June 2007 by Merge. The lineup for the recording added keyboardist Kyle Forester and guitarist Ben Crum of Great Lakes. Unfortunately, mere weeks prior to the release from the recording, drummer San Fadyl, a much loved physique in the indie rock and roll community, passed on due to problems from serious asthma. Before saving its next recording, the group’s lineup shifted once again with guitarists Michael O’Neill and Tag Dzula and drummer Eric Farber put into the primary of Olson, Rydholm, and Forester. The band’s seventh studio room LP, Clutching Stems, premiered in June of 2011.

Check Also


This Wigan, Greater Manchester, England-based band was formed by very long time friends Gerard Starkie …