Home / Biography / Suffocation


Death metal music group Suffocation was formed in NY in the first ’90s, comprising vocalist Frank Mullen, guitarists Doug Cerrito and Terrance Hobbs, bassist Chris Richards, and drummer Mike Smith. The group’s 1991 debut record, Effigy from the Neglected, became quite important within the grind/loss of life steel community. Released on Roadrunner Information, it was implemented two years afterwards by Breeding from the Spawn. Following the problem of the Individual Waste materials EP, Smith still left Suffocation and was changed by drummer Doug Bohn. By 1995, the next lineup got released their initial record, Pierced from Within. The music group broke up immediately after, disheartened by label complications and insufficient direction. A secret album, Despise sunlight, floated around because of record label politics until Relapse finally released it in the summertime of 2002. The music group re-formed in 2003 and started focusing on their 4th studio recording. The producing Souls to Deny, which designated the come back of initial drummer Mike Smith, premiered the following 12 months, and effectively finished the group’s six-year hiatus. Suffocation’s eponymous 5th outing found its way to 2006, and was adopted in ’09 2009 by Bloodstream Oath, which designated the band’s 1st official entry within the Billboard graphs. Pinnacle of Bedlam, the group’s seventh studio room album, found its way to 2013.

Check Also


A hard rock and roll/glam-pop metal device with roots both in France and america, XYZ …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *