Home / Biography / Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin

Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin

The three original members of Someone Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin — lead guitarist Will Knauer, drummer Philip Dickey, and bassist Tom Hembree — met in senior high school in Springfield, Missouri, and quickly formed a pop band. It had been Dickey who developed the group’s name while buying with his mom 1 day in the neighborhood shopping mall, and he also had written the majority of their early materials. Once in university, the trio added vocalist/guitarist John Robert Cardwell and bassist/documenting engineer Jonathan Wayne towards the lineup, as well as the music group setup a makeshift studio room in Knauer’s house to record Broom, which became their indie debut in 2005. Broom was just meant to be considered a regional release. However, following the music group uploaded some tracks onto its site, the music press captured wind from the group’s breezy pop music and helped spark a swell of on-line fascination with the music group. Plus a handful of additional groups, Somebody Still Loves You Boris Yeltsin became the toast from the blogosphere in 2006. That same springtime, their music “Oregon Woman” finished up with an bout of The O.C., an indicator that their recognition wasn’t limited to the web. A agreement with Polyvinyl Information adopted, and a remastered edition of Broom made an appearance prior to the end of 2006. By that point, though, both Hembree and Wayne had left, therefore turning SSLYBY back to a three-piece having a revolving cast of extra guest musicians. Wayne ultimately rejoined the music group, climbing aboard simply with time for the discharge of their second full-length, Pershing. Issued in 2008, the recording featured production from the bandmates themselves. SSLYBY made a decision to enlist assistance from maker Chris Walla on the next recording, though, as well as the resulting ALLOW IT Sway seemed to warm evaluations this year 2010. The next yr, Polyvinyl released a compilation from the band’s unreleased B-sides and demos entitled Tape Membership. The 2013 Polyvinyl discharge Take a flight by Wire came back the music group to a three-piece lineup of Knauer, Dickey, and Adam, reflecting a far more older approach and a back-to-basics documenting style back again at Knauer’s house. Their fifth studio room record, 2015’s The Great Country, was documented in Chris Walla’s Hall of Justice studio room and discovered the music group upping tempos and power for the still melodically sugary but electrified, feedback-peppered reunion of SSLYBY’s primary lineup with Hembree coming back on bass.

Check Also

The Blindfold Parade

Yet another item of Milwaukee’s exploding punk rock and roll picture, the Blindfold Parade blend …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *