Home / Biography / Solstafir


An Icelandic post-metal outfit with root base in progressive, dark, and Viking steel, Sólstafir were founded in 1995 by longtime friends Aðalbjörn Tryggvason (electric guitar, vocals), Halldór Einarsson (bass), and Guðmundur Óli Pálmason (drums). After slicing some demos, Sólstafir scaled right down to a duo (Tryggvason and Pálmason) and started focus on their debut full-length. After recruiting Svavar Austmann to displace Einarsson, they go about laying down paths for what would become Í Blóðwe og Anda. Some setbacks (label woes, lineup adjustments) held the LP from released until 2002. By that point, Sólstafir were working being a quartet by adding second guitarist Sæþór Maríus Sæþórsson, who produced his studio room debut for the 2002 EP Dark Loss of life. In 2004 Sólstafir inked a cope with the Spinefarm imprint Spikefarm, with whom they released their sophomore long-player, Masterpiece of Bitterness, in 2005. Arriving in ’09 2009, Köld noticed Sólstafir adding even more post-metal atmospherics to their audio, an aesthetic they might additional distill on following outings like Svartir Sandar (2012), which arrived the group its initial big strike in “Fjara,” and Ótta (2014), both which had been released via Period of Mist. In 2015 co-founder Pálmason remaining the group, and was changed by Hallgrímur Jón Hallgrímsson. In 2017 the recently minted quartet released its 6th full-length outing, Berdreyminn, once again via Period of Mist.

Check Also


Hip-hopper Tela came busting from Memphis in 1996 having a agreement for the Suave Home …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *