Home / Biography / Nino Sanzogno

Nino Sanzogno

Nino Sanzogno was an Italian conductor who mastered the typical operatic repertoire while focusing on modern functions. He grew up in Venice, and went to the Liceo Musicale, where he analyzed structure with Gian Francesco Malipiero and violin with Hermann Scherchen, with whom he later on studied performing. He led the Gruppo Strumentale, La Fenice, as well as the RAI Milan Symphony Orchestra, before providing his first overall performance at La Scala in 1939. Among the main functions he performed there have been Alban Berg’s Lulu, Francis Poulenc’s Dialogues des Carmélites, Darius Milhaud’s David, Dmitry Shostakovich’s Woman Macbeth of Mtsensk, William Walton’s Troilus and Cressida, Sergei Prokofiev’s The Fiery Angel, and Benjamin Britten’s A Midsummer Night’s Desire. He founded the opera organization Piccola Scala, which focused on 18th hundred years operas. Like a composer, Sanzogno published concertos for viola and cello, aswell as symphonic functions and chamber music.

Check Also

Chiquinha Gonzaga

The main feminine figure of Brazilian popular music ever, Chiquinha Gonzaga was an unbiased woman …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.