Home / Biography / Maximum Joy

Maximum Joy

Bristol, England-based post-punk music group Maximum Pleasure were formed in 1979 by trumpeter and saxophonist Tony Wrafter — following a separation of his previous music group Glaxo Infants — and vocalist and clarinetist Janine Rainforth. Bassist Dan Catsis and drummer Charlie Llewellin, both of whom had been also in Glaxo Infants, eventually joined up with up, as do previous Pop Group guitarist John Waddington. There have been some lineup adjustments through the band’s brief existence, like the addition of a Nellee Hooper. Agreed upon to the Y label, Optimum Joy released a trio of 12″ and 7″ singles, highlighted by “Stretch out,” ahead of recording Place MXJY (1982), their lone record, with Adrian Sherwood. Following release of the Dennis Bovell-produced cover of Timmy Thomas’ “Why Can’t We Live Jointly,” the music group divide. The anthology Unlimited (1979-1983) was released a couple years afterwards. Wrafter, Rainforth, and Llewellin reactivated the music group to execute at Bristol’s Basic Things Celebration 2015.

Check Also


Athens, Georgia local Madeline Adams is at her mid-teens when she started performing and writing …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.