Home / Biography / Mats Eilertsen

Mats Eilertsen

Mats Eilertsen can be an oft-recorded jazz bassist and composer from Trondheim, Norway. He not merely leads his very own groups, but can be an in-demand program player throughout North European countries. Eilertsen majored in jazz research at Trondheim Musikkonservatorium. As students, he was a founding person in the jazz quintet Dingobats. Various other people included saxophonist Eirik Hegdal, guitarist Thomas Dahl, and drummer Sverre Gjørvad. They released their debut record, THE BRAND NEW Dingobats Era, in 1998. The music group became a membership favorite and released two additional albums before disbanding in 2004. Even while an associate of Dingobats, Eilertsen was active collaborating in various other tasks. From 2000-2004, he was a dynamic member of Meals with Thomas Strønen, Iain Ballamy, and Arve Henriksen, and performed on their 1st four albums. He also performed bass within the Håkon Kornstad Trio, which received a Kongsberg Jazz Honor in 2002 for the recording Space Obtainable. The bassist also made an appearance on guitarist Jacob Young’s ECM debut Evening Falls in 2004. Following the Dingobats break up, the bassist founded the quartet Turanga with cellist Ernst Reijseger, saxophonist Fredrik Ljungkvist, and Strønen on drums. Their 2005 self-titled debut recording is commonly thought to be Eilertsen’s debut single effort. He adopted it using the same device on Flux a 12 months later on. In 2008, Eilertsen performed on Young’s Sideways day, and became a member of Tord Gustavsen’s music group — which also documented for ECM — on Restored, Came back. A 12 months later Eilertsen released his third recording, Radio Yonder, on Hubro, a jazz and improvised music imprint of Norway’s largest impartial label Grappa Musikkforlag. His accompanists had been saxophonist Tore Brunborg, drummer Olavi Louhivuori, and Dahl on acoustic guitar. Having a trio he released Elegy for the label this year 2010, associated with pianist Harmen Fraanje and Strønen. Eilertsen released SkyDive for Hubro in 2011 with the air Yonder staff and Finnish pianist Alexi Tuomarila, along with a 12 months later was an associate of Gustavsen’s quartet around the Well, released by ECM. He also performed bass on pianist Yelena Eckemoff’s trio day Forget-Me-Not with Marilyn Mazur on drums. In 2013, Eilertsen’s trio — with Fraanje and Strønen — released Sails Arranged. The bassist rotated back again to the Gustavsen music group for 2014’s Prolonged Group, and cemented his budding romantic relationship with ECM. A 12 months later on, he was acknowledged as dual bassist on Mathias Eick’s Midwest and Nils Økland’s Kjølvatn. Eilertsen released his personal debut for the label in 2016. Entitled Rubicon, it had been predicated on and created from a function he’d created under commission from your Vossajazz Festival. He was associated with saxophonists Trygve Seim and Hegdal (the second option also performed clarinets), Dahl on acoustic guitar, Rob Waring on marimba and vibraphone, Fraanje on piano and Fender Rhodes, and Louhivuori on drums. The recording was released in August.

Check Also

Judy Chamberlain

Imagine beginning a melody without counting from the tempo as well as informing one’s sidemen …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *