Home / Biography / Iqu



The Olympia, WA lo-fi electronic trio IQU (pronounced ee-koo) includes keyboardist Michiko Swiggs, bassist Aaron Hartman and guitarist/turntablist/theremin player K.O. Though their music started as free-form improvisation incorporating analog synths, upright bass, electric guitar and dance beats, it advanced into more organised songs by enough time K.O.’s employer, Calvin Johnson of K Information, invited these to record an record at K’s studio room. The record, 1998’s Chotto Matte AN INSTANT! mixed drum-n-bass using the immediacy of lo-fi and punk; the duality of the sound discovered them writing the costs with several works, including Unwound, Sonic Youth, the Flaming Lip area and Hovercraft. IQU spent 1999 touring and documenting; that summertime they released a cooperation with performance musician/filmmaker Miranda July, Women on Schedules. Mid-2000 saw the discharge from the full-length Teenage Fantasy. Four years afterwards, IQU came back with Sunlight Q, which chosen a larger, more polished audio.

Quick Facts

Music Songs Flower and Moon, Dirty Boy, Girls On Dates, Can't You Even Remember That?, Aluet, Kida Co-Coma, Whistle, Done the Twist..., Bouncing Baby Buddah, Yopparai, Under the Cherry Blossom, Temptation, The 9th Line, Sun Q, A Pile of Cherries, Dr. Caligari, Puka, Crazy, Fortune Cookie, Loving You, Hamachi, , Teenage Dream
Albums Chotto Matte a Moment!, Sun Q, Teenage Dream, Girls on Dates

Check Also


Fronted by former model Doro Pesch, the German steel band Warlock contains guitarists Rudy Graf …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.