Home / Biography / Hierophants


Hierophants are an Australian quartet who have play jittery, nervous post-punk/new wave-inspired indie rock and roll. Their basic, catchy tracks feature buzzing body organ and a slim level of echo, along with lyrics expressing tension and frustration. Comprising drummer Jake Robertson (also of Ausmuteants), guitarist Zak Olsen, key pad participant Paris Richens, and bassist Daff Gravolin, the group shaped this year 2010 after Olsen shifted to the Southern Australian town of Geelong. In 2012, Hierophants released a 7″ EP and a couple of divide cassettes for the Anti Fade Information label. The group’s discharge schedule got a tiny breather while Ausmuteants released many well-received albums and singles, but Hierophants came back in 2014 with two 7″ singles: “Nothing at all Neu!” on Goodbye Boozy Information and “Pneumatic Drill” on Moontown Information. Goner Information (Ausmuteants’ American house) agreed upon Hierophants and released a 7″ known as “I Don’t Brain” in early 2015. The group’s debut full-length, Parallax Mistake, premiered in Oct by Goner Information and Melbourne-based Aarght! Information.

Check Also

Keith Jarrett

Pianist, composer, and bandleader Keith Jarrett is among the most prolific, innovative, and iconoclastic music …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *