Home / Biography / Herbcraft


Herbcraft certainly are a lo-fi psychedelic rock and roll group from Portland, Maine whose trippy, spiritually minded jams explore devotional styles. The project is definitely helmed by vocalist/multi-instrumentalist Matt Lajoie, previously known for his free-folk task Cursillistas, which released over twelve recordings from 2005-2011, mainly on his L’animaux Tryst (Field) Recordings label, but also including two albums on Digitalis and a small number of tapes and CD-Rs on brands such as for example Blackest Rainbow, Time-Lag Information, and Cabin Ground Esoterica. After retiring Cursillistas around 2009, Lajoie started working on a far more electrical, cosmically willing psych-rock project, instead of the mainly acoustic, delicate abstract folk of Cursillistas. Herbcraft debuted in June of 2010 using the LP Discovers the Bitter Globe of Agartha, created and recorded completely by Lajoie and released in the Hello Sunlight label. This is followed a couple of months afterwards by Documents, a limited-edition cassette co-produced by Ian Paige and released on Fuck It Tapes, a cassette-only imprint of Jeremy Earl’s Woodsist label. Another LP on Hello Sunlight, Ashram towards the Superstars, made an appearance in 2011, and another limited cassette, Flowering, surfaced on United kingdom label Julia Wish Recordings in 2012. Pursuing these primarily self-recorded produces, Herbcraft became a lot more of the collaborative task. Arriving in 2013, The Astral Body Electric powered, Herbcraft’s 1st LP for Woodsist, greatly extended the group’s audio, with Lajoie becoming followed by Dawn Aquarius, Nicholas Barker, Aaron Neveu, Doug Tuttle (who documented the album right to tape within an 18th hundred years barn using analog documenting methods), and maker Matt Valentine. Third , album, Herbcraft’s staff officially solidified as the trio of Lajoie, Neveu (on drums), and Joe Lindsey (bass/body organ). The lineup’s 1st launch was “Drive Thru the Veil,” a cool, uptempo Krautrock-influenced music made by Neveu and released like a 7″ solitary in 2014. The music also appeared within the group’s Woodsist-released 2015 LP Wot Oz, which continuing to explore even more uptempo, improvisational psych-rock, with half from the album’s six songs stretching at night ten-minute mark.

Check Also

Arthur Lyman

Because the vibraphonist for Martin Denny’s group, Lyman was instrumental in crafting the audio of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *