Home / Biography / Heinrich Glareanus

Heinrich Glareanus

Glareanus (1488 – 1563) was an eminent Swiss humanist and music theorist whose Dodekachordon (The Twelve-String Lyre), published in 1547, is undoubtedly among the great Renaissance efforts to music theory. Glareanus is usually mainly known for adding four fresh settings towards the eight middle ages settings (Dorian, Hypodorian, Phrygian, Hypophrygian, Lydian, Hypolydian, Mixolydian, and Hypomixolydian). The brand new settings had been: the Aeolian and Hypoaeolian (having a as the ultimate, as well as the Ionian and Hypoionian (with C as the ultimate). Essentially, Glareanus’ theoretical addition simply codified current practice, since composers, including Josquin have been using settings predicated on A and C.

Check Also

Valer Sabadus

Delivered in Romania, Valer Barna-Sabadus is a German counter-top tenor. After taking on the violin …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *