Home / Biography / Hayman, Watkins, Trout and Lee

Hayman, Watkins, Trout and Lee

Hayman, Watkins, Trout and Lee are an East London centered nation and bluegrass quartet composed of indie rockers, then one of a aspect task supergroup spearheaded by cult songwriter Darren Hayman from the favorite, defunct indie pop music group Hefner. Hayman, who in addition has recorded being a single artist so that as a member from the French, developed the thought of beginning a bluegrass group with Dave Watkins, from the music group Pete & the Egg, at a 2005 social gathering. With Watkins choosing to understand banjo for the event, and Hayman electing to stick to bass, they asked Simon Trought of Tompaulin (because he possessed a mandolin) and John Lee of B-Monster (even though he’d barely heard about bluegrass) and the initial lineup was set up. They learned to try out some addresses and performed some concert events, taking a intentionally casual, unambitious attitude, using the loose guiding idea of writing composing and vocal responsibilities, no particular programs to record. That transformed using the band’s lineup: Trought and Lee departed after a 12 months and were changed by violinist Dan Mayfield (of Enderby and Ellis Isle Audio and, like Watkins, an associate of Hayman’s support group the Supplementary Contemporary) and Dave Tattersall from the Wave Photos. This fresh lineup held to the initial, now-inaccurate name, but launched a higher degree of musicianship and formality towards the proceedings, plenty of in order that they made a decision to record a full-length record of their function. Their self-titled recording, recorded more than a weekend at Hayman’s home, made an appearance on Fortuna POP! in 2008, having a couple of originals, some common instrumentals, and addresses of Townes Vehicle Zandt, Huey “Piano” Smith, as well as the Mountain Goats.

Check Also

Tennessee Schmaltz

Founded in Knoxville, TN, in 1995, Tennessee Schmaltz enjoy within a hybrid Old World klezmer …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.