Home / Biography / Extreme Noise Terror

Extreme Noise Terror

Grindcore pioneers Great Noise Terror shaped in Britain in early 1985 like a straight-edge anarchist punk group, originally comprising vocalists Phil Vane and Dean Jones, guitarist Pete Hurley, bassist Jerry Clay, and drummer Pig Killer. The group’s sound combined the whirlwind velocity, politics lyrics, and succinct tunes of hardcore and crust punk using the milling guitars and grunted vocals of metallic at its most volatile and fatal. After just one single live appearance, the group was authorized to Manic Ears Information, soon launching a divide LP with Chaos UK entitled Radioactive. Pig Killer after that still left the group, with Napalm Loss of life drummer Mick Harris arriving aboard as his substitute. Being successful the admiration of Radio One DJ John Peel off, Extreme Sound Terror documented a notorious program for Peel’s present in 1987, their to begin many performances on this program. The group documented its initial full-length work, A Holocaust in your mind, with Harris behind the drum package, but this edition was under no circumstances released because of internal turmoil. Drummer Tony “Stay” Dickens changed Harris to re-record the record, which finally made an appearance on Mind Eruption Information in 1989. In It forever, a divide LP with Filthkick (whose Peter Nash got joined up with ENT on bass electric guitar), was also released that season on Kitchen sink Below Information. A compilation from the group’s Peel off Sessions made an appearance on Strange Fruits in 1990. ENT re-recorded Holocaust in 1991 with bassist Tag Bailey; most following reissues from the record were of the documenting. In the wake of their 1991 EP Phonophobia (Vinyl fabric Japan/Self-discipline), ENT collaborated using the KLF on the cover from the latter’s strike “3AM Eternal,” which gained “Single from the Week” honors in NME. Both serves’ collaborative appearance on the 1992 Brit Honours triggered a nationwide furor following the KLF’s Costs Drummond directed a machine weapon at the market, firing off a circular of blanks. Both groups have been focusing on an record titled The Dark Room, but following the functionality, the KLF retired in the music sector and deleted all their recordings, as well as the record was aborted. More than the next 2 yrs, ENT toured relentlessly, adding guitarist Ali Firouzbakht and substituting bassist Lee Barrett for the exiting Bailey. Primary drummer Pig Killer also came back to the flip for 1995’s Retro-Bution (Earache), but still left again after just a few a few months; his substitute was previous Cradle of Filth member Was. Much more serious was the defection of Vane, who became a member of Napalm Death; ironically, ex-Napalm Loss of life frontman Tag “Barney” Greenway after that joined ENT, producing his debut on 1997’s Harm 381 (Earache). Called following the BPM of its name track, the recording discovered the group’s audio venturing nearer to loss of life metallic than before. Vane came back towards the group as Greenway came back to Napalm Loss of life, Manny Cooke changed Barrett on bass, and Zac O’Neil became ENT’s drummer. As the 20th hundred years finished, Vane was changed again, 1st by Jose Kurt and by Adam Catchpole. Gian Pyres (ex-Cradle of Filth) became a member of on guitar with time for ENT’s 2001 recording Being and Nothing at all (Candlelight). Following the album’s launch Stafford Glover changed Cooke on bass. Paul “Woody” Woodfield also became a member of as business lead guitarist in 2001. The 2004 EP Hatred as well as the Filth (Distortion Information) discovered the group shifting back again toward its previously crust/grind style instead of loss of life metallic, and a 2007 break up EP with Driller Killer on Osmose Productions completely re-embraced the sound. By this time around, Vane experienced rejoined the group once again, and Ollie Jones experienced changed Firouzbakht on acoustic guitar. While ENT experienced reconnected using their origins musically, they’d turn into a little more open-minded relating to their personal values, no more constricting themselves to straight-edge, vegan life-style, and no much longer performing specific pro-vegetarian songs such as for example “Murder.” In 2008, the group documented a new record, Rules of Retaliation (Osmose Productions), their first with drummer Michael Hourihan. Chris Casket joined up with on guitar immediately after. Unfortunately, Vane passed on in his rest in 2011. The music group continued, originally with Roman Matuszewski on vocals, after that John Loughlin, and lastly Gorerotted’s Ben McCrow. Hourihan was changed by drummer Barney Monger in 2011, and Andi Morris changed Glover on bass in 2012. Casket and Woodfield both still left in 2014, and Hourihan came back on drums. Pursuing many years of divide albums and EPs, Intensive Sound Terror released their self-titled 6th full-length by the end of 2015 on Agipunk; the record was focused on Vane’s memory.

Check Also

Wicked Witch

An obscure and wildly idiosyncratic funk act from Washington, D.C., Wicked Witch was the studio …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.