Home / Biography / Dresden Philharmonic Orchestra

Dresden Philharmonic Orchestra

The Dresden Philharmonic Orchestra is among the oldest & most respected symphony orchestras in Germany. Though they have frequently been overshadowed by its neighbor, the Dresden Condition Orchestra, the Dresden Philharmonic offers enjoyed an extended history of achievement under a number of the world’s leading conductors, like Carl Schuricht, Kurt Masur, Herbert Kegel, Michel Plasson, Marek Janowski, and Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos. Plus they possess achieved essential acclaim inside a vast selection of repertory, from J.S. Bach and Vivaldi to Alfred Schnittke and Paul-Heinz Dittrich. The orchestra performs the majority of its 80 roughly concerts a yr in the Kulturpalast Dresden. Over time the Dresden Philharmonic Orchestra offers amassed a discography of many hundred recordings, with more than 100 on the Berlin Classics label and many more available from DG, EMI, RCA, Thorofon, and Brilliant Classics. The Dresden Philharmonic Orchestra was founded in 1870, providing its 1st concert on November 29 of this yr. The ensemble originally performed beneath the name of Gewerbehausorchester (Industrial Home Orchestra). The 1st primary conductor was Hermann Mannsfeldt, who kept the post from 1870-1885. Brahms, Dvorák, Tchaikovsky, Richard Strauss, and various other leading composers would guest-conduct the orchestra in its early years, and a string of recognized music artists would serve as primary conductor, including August Trenkler (1890-1903) and Edwin Lindner (1915-1923). It had been in 1915, under Lindner, the fact that Gewerbehausorchester transformed its name to Dresden Philharmonic Orchestra. Under Paul truck Kampen (1934-1942) it started producing regular recordings. Among its significant efforts had been recordings from the Beethoven Third and Mozart 20th piano concertos with Wilhelm Kempff, on DG, from 1941-1942. In the tough wartime and postwar eras, the orchestra was offered well by primary conductors Carl Schuricht (1942-1944), Gerhart Wiesenhütter (1945-1946), and Heinz Bongartz (1946-1964). Following short tenure of Horst Förster (1964-1967), Kurt Masur (1967-1972) led the orchestra, which today began performing on the Kulturpalast Dresden, built-in 1969. Masur produced over 50, mainly critically acclaimed, recordings using the ensemble. Günther Herbig (1972-1976) been successful him, preserving the orchestra’s high criteria, and Herbert Kegel (1972-1976) had taken the podium. He produced over 40 recordings during his recognized tenure. Jörg-Peter Weigle (1986-1994) was primary conductor through the 1990 German reunification period. Michel Plasson (1994-2001) became the orchestra’s initial French primary conductor, and he was been successful by the recognized Polish-born Marek Janowski (2001-2004). Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos had taken over performing in 2007.

Check Also

David Oistrakh

David Oistrakh is definitely the premiere violinist of middle-20th hundred years Soviet Union. His documented …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *