Home / Biography / Clayton Squares

Clayton Squares

Called after Clayton Square within their city of Liverpool, Britain, the Clayton Squares had been a traveling R&B band shaped too past due to profit from the Mersey increase. The founding line-up comprised Mike Evans (tenor saxophone/innovator), Denny Alexander (vocals/tempo acoustic guitar), Pete Dunn (lead acoustic guitar/body organ), Les Smith (alto saxophone), Geoff Jones (bass), and Bobby Scott (drums). They documented two superb singles for Decca Information, ‘Arrive And Obtain It’ and ‘There She Is definitely’, but despite constant touring and several international television performances, the group was struggling to obtain commercial achievement. The Clayton Squares disbanded in 1966 and Evans became a member of late-period guitarist Andy Roberts in the Liverpool Picture.

Check Also

The Commandos

Studio room group assembled by Juggy Murray, featuring Ruler Curtis (tenor sax), Herman Foster (piano), …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *