Home / Biography / Bowery Electric

Bowery Electric


Manhattan-based drone-rock duo Bowery Electrical comprised vocalist/guitarist Lawrence Chandler, a previous protégé of minimalist composer LaMonte Youthful, and vocalist/bassist Martha Schwendener. Originally a three-piece curved out by way of a group of drummers, Bowery Electric powered bowed in 1994 using a dual 7″ on the self-owned Hi-Fidelity Recordings which helped property them in the indie label Kranky, which released their self-titled debut LP in 1995. With 1996’s Defeat, the duo’s swirling, chaotic appear began to integrate components of the electronica motion; a subsequent group of 12″ remixes by famous brands Disjecta, CHASM, and Immersion additional solidified their brand-new affiliation with digital music, as do 1997’s remix collection Vertigo. The long-awaited Lushlife finally made an appearance in early 2000.

Quick Facts

Music Songs Lushlife, Slow Thrills, Without Stopping, Fear of Flying, Freedom Fighter, Next to Nothing, Empty Words, Black Light, Psalms of Survival, Floating World, Shook Ones, Deep Sky Objects, After Landing, Another Road, Soul City, Sounds in Motion, Coming Down, Beat, Out of Phase, Electro Sleep, Looped, Drift Away, Postscript, Long Way Down, Deep Blue, Passages, Blow Up, Over and Over, Saved, Things'll Never Be the Same, Elementary Particles, Under the Sun
Albums Beat, Lushlife, [untitled], Bowery Electric, Vertigo, Drop

Check Also

White Denim

Frantic and freewheeling indie rock combo White Denim hail from Austin, Tx, where bandmates Josh …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *