Home / Biography / Bad Astronaut

Bad Astronaut


Together with fronting the melodic pop-punk quintet of Lagwagon, vocalist and guitarist Joey Cape also moonlights because the frontman for Poor Astronaut. Associated with previous Nerf Herder and Swingin’ Utters bassist Marko 72 (also of Sugarcult) and Lagwagon drummer Derrick Plourde, this indie rock and roll three-piece debuted within their hometown of Santa Barbara in early 2000. Making use of their refined but mature and complicated existence that resembles Cape’s full-time gig, Poor Astronaut released their first EP, Acrophobe, thanks to Honest Don’s Information in early 2001. A break up with Armchair Martian adopted later in the entire year through Possessed and Operated prior to the music group released Houston: WE’VE a Drinking Issue in fall 2002. By that launch, Poor Astronaut experienced inflated to seven users, right now including Angus Cooke (cello, acoustic guitar, percussion), Todd Capps (piano), Thom Plants (electric guitar), and Jonathan Cox (development). Focus on the band’s third record occurred on / off over the following several years, however when Plourde unfortunately took his very own lifestyle in March 2005, a devastated Cape (whose grief initial converted into the Lagwagon record Resolve) regarded scrapping the whole lot, not attempting to continue without him. Nevertheless, Cape ultimately sensed he had a need to surface finish what he and his friend acquired started, choosing the causing record would also end up being the final for Poor Astronaut. Finishing monitors that Plourde had currently laid down drums, Cape additional called upon good friend and drummer Jonathan Gorman to greatly help him flesh out the rest of the songs. The finished Twelve Small Guidelines, One Large Disappointment — entitled ironically more than enough by Plourde and Cape before what will be among their last documenting sessions jointly — made an appearance in November 2006 on Fats Wreck.

Quick Facts

Full Name Bad Astronaut
Music Songs Break Your Frame, Greg’s Estate, Unlucky Stuntman, Jessica's Suicide, Grey Suits, Not a Dull Moment, Disarm, You Deserve This, If I Had a Son, Killers and Liars, Our Greatest Year, Another Dead Romance, One Giant Disappointment, San Francisco Serenade, Only Good for a…, Good Morning Night, Logan’s Run, Ghostwrite, Solar Sister, Stillwater, California, Needle in the Hay, Clear Cutting, Go Humans, The “F” Word, Off the Wagon, The Thirteenth Step, Autocare, Catherine Morgan, Minus, Statler 2000, The Passenger, Crestfallen
Albums Houston: We Have a Drinking Problem, Twelve Small Steps, One Giant Disappointment, War of the Worlds, Acrophobe

  • Facts
  • Filmography
  • Awards
  • Salaries
  • Quotes
  • Trademarks
  • Pictures

1 Joey Cape his band Lagwagon released an album called "Hang" in 2014. Hang is Lagwagon's eighth studio album. It is their first in 9 years, the last one was Resolve, released in 2005.
2 On April 25, 2011, Cape has revealed that he is working on a new band project called Joey Cape's Bad Loud and that he already recorded a full-length album with the band, to feature electric full-band renditions of acoustic songs from his two solo albums Bridge and Doesn't Play Well with Others.[5] The band's debut self-titled album was released on June 9, 2011, on BandCamp.
3 Cape released his first solo album, Bridge, on October 21, 2008 on Suburban Home Records. His second album Doesn't Play Well with Others, was released on February 2011, after he released each song on the album each month of 2010, collecting them all on CD and vinyl in the end of 2010.
4 In 2008 Lagwagon released a 7 song EP titled "I Think My Older Brother Used To Listen To Lagwagon".
5 On November 1, 2005, Lagwagon released Resolve, which is a homage to the life of Derrick Plourde, original drummer for Lagwagon and Bad Astronaut. After touring in support of their latest album "Resolve", (June 2007) Lagwagon begun writing their next album, which was to be released later that year or 2008.
6 Joeys friend and fellow band member in both Lagwagon and Bad Astronaut, Drummer Derrick Plourde, committed suicide in March 2005. Bad Astronaut released its third and final album, Twelve Small Steps, One Giant Disappointment on November 14, 2006 on Fat Wreck Chords. Upon the album's release, Joey Cape announced, "without Derrick, there is no Bad Astronaut" on the band's MySpace page.
7 Is also a producer. He has produced albums by The Ataris, Ridel High, Nerf Herder as well as his own bands Lagwagon and Bad Astronaut.
8 Also sang in the experimental band Bad Astronaut and plays guitar in the cover band Me First and the Gimme Gimmes.
9 Sings for the seminal California punk group Lagwagon. He has been a member of the band since their formation in 1989.



Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 2 2000 Video Game writer: "May 16" - as Joseph Cape
Contact 1997 writer: "Angry Days" - uncredited



Watch Dogs 2 2016 Video Game voice



A Fat Wreck 2016 Documentary Himself
Filmage: The Story of Descendents/All 2013 Documentary Himself
One Nine Nine Four 2009 Documentary

Looks like we don't have awards information. Sorry!

Looks like we don't have salary information. Sorry!

Looks like we don't have quotes information. Sorry!

Looks like we don't have trademarks information. Sorry!

Looks like we don't have pictures. Sorry!

Check Also


Acquiring their name from a figure within a John Milton poem, Comus was a short-lived …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *