Home / Biography / Amorphis



Lead guitarist Esa Holopainen and drummer Jan Rechberger shaped the music group Amorphis in Finland in 1990. To finish their lineup they recruited vocalist/guitarist Tomi Koivusaari and bassist Olli-Pekka Laine. They released a demonstration in 1991 known as Disment of Soul. The demonstration was so effective in getting interest for the group which they acquired an archive offer and released an EP exactly the same 12 months. They following released their 1st full-length recording, The Karelian Isthmus, in 1992. The next 12 months, their early demonstration recording session premiered as Privilege of Bad. The entire year 1994 noticed the group sending out its following CD, Tales from your 1000 Lakes. In 1994, Kim Rantala became a member of the music group on keyboards, becoming integrated as an associate of the music group as opposed to the part musician he was changing. An EP entitled Dark Winter Day premiered the next 12 months. Their next recording was Elegy. This disk showcased a fresh six-member lineup, finished by Pasi Koskinen as their second vocalist. The lineup at this time also included brand-new drummer Pekka Kasari. In 1997 they released My Kantele. In 1998, Rantala still left the group, getting changed by Santeri Kallio. The group released Tuonela with this lineup in 1999. The next season, Niclas Etelävuori changed Laine on bass. In 2001 the music group went in a far more experimental path, including saxophones and a larger concentrate on keyboards for Am Universum. Jan Rechberger rejoined the music group in 2003 simply with time to record Amorphis’ 6th studio album, Definately not sunlight. Koskinen still left the music group in 2004 to spotlight his family members and was changed by Tomi Joutsen. Because of their next task, Amorphis began focus on some concept albums in line with the well-known Finnish epic poem The Kalevala, launching Eclipse in 2006, Silent Waters in 2007, as well as the even more melodic and prog-oriented Skyforger in ’09 2009. This year 2010 the music group made a decision to revisit a few of its old work, recording brand-new arrangements of previously materials for Magic and Mayhem: Stories from the first Years using its brand-new approach on the fore. Searching back at days gone by was just a method of honoring it, nevertheless, and Amorphis forced ahead with The start of Occasions, which mixed Joutsen’s clean performing with earth-shaking guttural growls and wove intense death metal in to the melodic prog blend. Two years later on, the music group enlisted Peter Tägtgren as maker for Group, a documenting that required a much less epic strategy and used early black metallic and folk components amid melodic — though intense — progressive loss of life metallic. In 2015, the music group continued a Western tour to commemorate the 20th wedding anniversary of Tales from your 1000 Lakes. That summer time in addition they released the Jens Bogren-produced Beneath the Crimson Cloud, a fresh set that presented substantive guest looks from flutist Chrigel Glanzmann (Eluveitie), drummer Martin Lopez (ex-Opeth), and vocalist Aleah Stanbridge (Trees and shrubs of Eternity).

Quick Facts

Full Name Amorphis
Music Songs House of Sleep, Black Winter Day, Silver Bride, Death of a King, From the Heaven of My Heart, You I Need, Sky Is Mine, My Kantele, Dark Path, Drowned Maid, Majestic Beast, The Smoke, The Four Wise Ones, Hopeless Days, Better Unborn, Against Widows, Song of the Sage, Silent Waters, Born From Fire, Song of the Troubled One, Brother Moon, Weaving the Incantation, Towards and Against, Nightbird's Song, Battle for Light, Sacrifice, I of Crimson Blood, Her Alone, Under a Soil and Black Stone, From Earth I Rose, Thousand Lakes, Empty Opening
Albums Tales from the Thousand Lakes, Under the Red Cloud, Silent Waters, Skyforger, The Beginning of Times, Elegy, Circle, Am Universum, The Karelian Isthmus, Tuonela, Eclipse, Forging the Land of Thousand Lakes, Far from the Sun, Disment of Soul, My Kantele, Magic & Mayhem – Tales from the Early Years, Privilege of Evil, Story: 10th Anniversary, Chapters, Tales from Lake Bodom, An Evening With Friends at Huvila, Best Of
Nominations Emma Award for Best Band, Emma Award for Best Metal Album, MTV Europe Music Award for Best Finnish Act

  • Facts
  • Filmography
  • Awards
  • Salaries
  • Quotes
  • Trademarks
  • Pictures

Looks like we don't have interesting facts information. Sorry!



Tie pohjoiseen 2012 performer: "Brother Moon"
Haggard 2003 performer: "Black Winter Day"
Kohtalon kirja 2003 arranger: "Alone" / performer: "Alone" / writer: "Alone"
Death Metal Zombies 1995 Video "In the Beginning", "Tales of the Thousand Lakes"

Archive Footage

Archive Footage

Rock Suomi 2010 TV Series documentary Themselves

Looks like we don't have awards information. Sorry!

Looks like we don't have salary information. Sorry!

Looks like we don't have quotes information. Sorry!

Looks like we don't have trademarks information. Sorry!

Looks like we don't have pictures. Sorry!

Check Also

Deering and Down

Reverend Neil Straight down began his music profession in the past due ’60s, using blues …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *